“We tend to think whatever we have is going to be lasting forever. Whatever we knew when we were able to learn what our society was made up of will last forever, and then it doesn't. And we wind up with something very strange.” - Octavia Butler
  1. One of the first things I noticed in the science fiction transcripts piece was the astute use of indentation to denote who was speaking and which questions were which.
  2. Alan Wexelblat says that we learn through building. I learned so much through building the neocities website, more than if I had read the CSS dropbox doc because I read it first and I had no idea what any of it meant and then now after writing iterations 11-20, I feel like I can now go back and understand the doc.
  3. I agree with Delaney that there is something amazing about reading. Personally, I have a really short attention span and am always trying to figure out what is going to happen next in the article, story etc., so I actually prefer reading because I quite a fast reader. Reading quickly is much better than watching a video on a faster speed. I dislike the way that the audio’s pitch gets distorted and that the images also get messed up. I actually think its really interesting how you can read fast or slow or upside down or anything you want in a way that you cannot watch videos.
  4. I mentioned this in previous journals, but I continue to feel a bubbling twinge of guilt/annoyance when I read people saying that they miss the simplicity and serendipity of the card catalogue. I do as well. In my elementary school, we had the card catalogue and as part of my job as a “library assistant,” I was supposed to go through the catalog and make sure that the cards were properly alphabetized. It was tedious physically but I found it fascinating mentally. That said, a kid with a similar love for books wouldn’t have been able to access the card catalog if they had a visual disability. Of course, I don’t think that our choices are so black and white “either digitize and lose all analog forever” or “go back to analog completely, to hell with the digital stuff.” I guess even after reading these past three week’s readings, I still don’t know the answer. I have been in awe, truly, of all of these articles we have read on the limitless possibilities of the hyperlink and democratizing the internet, among other things. Yet, I’m still stuck with my worry about this question.